Comprised of CCM graduate saxophone students, the Promethean Saxophone Quartet competes in the Coleman Chamber Music Ensemble Competition Finals on April 27, 2013.

Comprised of CCM graduate saxophone students, the Promethean Saxophone Quartet competes in the Coleman Chamber Music Ensemble Competition Finals on April 27, 2013.

We are excited to share that CCM’s own Promethean Saxophone Quartet will compete in the finals of the 67th annual Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition in Pasadena, California!

The competition will take place this Saturday, April 27, in the Ramo Auditorium at the California Institute of Technology, and winners will be presented in a public concert the following day.

The Promethean Quartet is comprised of CCM graduate saxophone students:

  • Alex Magg, soprano saxophone
  • Jeremy Castañeda, alto saxophone
  • Om Srivistava, tenor saxophone
  • Ryan Van Scoyk, baritone saxophone

The Quartet will be competing with Alfred Desenclos’ Quatuor pour Saxophones and David Maslanka’s Recitation Book, based on traditional chorale and Gregorian chant melodies.

The competition appearance is part of a tour that will include performances in Denver, Fort Collins and Colorado Springs, CO, as well as at CCM and in Greater Cincinnati. In addition to the competition repertoire, tour repertoire will include an arrangement by the Quartet’s baritone saxophonist Ryan Van Scoyk of Percy Grainger’s beloved piece for wind band, Lincolnshire Posy, and Philip Glass’s Saxophone Quartet.

The members of the Quartet all study under Saxophone Studies faculty member James Bunte. This season, the group has performed around Cincinnati, at Virginia Tech on tour with the CCM Wind Orchestra and at the North American Saxophone Alliance regional conference at Bowling Green State University.

For more details on the tour and competition, keep up with Promethean on Facebook. You can watch and hear these talented artists on the Quartet’s YouTube channel.

About the Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition
The Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition began in 1947 as the Coleman Auditions for young, non-professional performers; today’s competing ensembles have an average age of less than 28. From a modest beginning, the annual Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition (renamed in 1982) has become a highly respected national and international event with competitors coming from the major music schools across the country.

Many Coleman Competition winners have gone on to become widely acclaimed artists. An abbreviated list of past winners includes Glenn Dicterow, Grant Gershon, Jeffrey Kahane, Anne-Marie McDermott, Paula Robison, Nathaniel Rosen, Morton Subotnick, the Ahn Trio, eighth blackbird, and the Cavani, Colorado, Pacifica, Tokyo and Vega Quartets.

Held annually in late April, the Competition offers an opportunity for these musicians to perform before an outstanding panel of nationally chosen judges for three prizes totaling $15,500. Previous judges have included Jascha Heifetz, Natalie Limonick, Mehli Mehta, Gregor Piatigorsky, Artur Rubinstein, Eudice Shapiro, Arnold Steinhardt, Henri Temianka, the Beaux Arts Trio, and the Amadeus, Budapest, Opus One and Smetana Quartets.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.