CCM’s Philharmonia Orchestra will present an exciting concert of new and grand symphonic works at 8 p.m. on Thursday, April 26, in Corbett Auditorium.

The concert will feature a world premiere of CCM student composer Jennifer Jolley’s Le monde du silence and Anton Bruckner’s romantic work Symphony No. 8 in C Minor.

Late nineteenth-century composer Anton Bruckner is well known for his lush and profound symphonies and masses. The last symphony he completed, Bruckner’s Symphony No. 8 has earned the occasional nickname of The Apocalyptic and is celebrated for its difficulty and richness.

As winner of CCM’s 2011 Orchestral Composition Competition and The Atlanta Opera’s 2012 24-Hour Opera Project, DMA composition student Jennifer Jolley has proven herself a talented and prominent upcoming composer. The CCM Philharmonia will present the world premiere of Le monde du silence, or “the silent world,” on the April 26 program.

About Jennifer Jolley
Urban geographical environments, city sounds and nostalgia influence Jennifer Jolley’s work. Her work has been commissioned and performed by Kelley O’Connor and the Bard Orchestra under the direction of Nathan Madsen, Xavier University under the direction of Matthew Westgate, concert:nova, AccentX, MusicX, CCM Chamber Players, Lake Champlain Waldorf School, Midwest Composers Symposium, New Music Hartford, Ottawa New Music Creators, University of Texas at Austin and the Vermont Contemporary Music Ensemble.

Jolley was recently awarded the 2011 Louis Rockwood Production Grant from UC’s College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (DAAP) for her sound composition/installation entitled “Press Play,” which was also presented at MATA’s 2011 Make Music Winter Workshop with Phil Kline. The CCM Philharmonia will premiere her new orchestra piece Le monde du silence under the direction of Mark Gibson.

Jolley currently teaches orchestration and composition lessons at CCM and music theory at Northern Kentucky University. She also authors “Why Compose When You Can Blog?,” a web log about contemporary composing.

Performance Time:
8 p.m. Thursday, April 26

Corbett Auditorium, College-Conservatory of Music
University of Cincinnati

Tickets & Parking Information
Tickets to the Philharmonia Orchestra’s April 26 concert are $12 for general admission, $5 for non-UC students and free for UC students with valid ID.

Parking is available in the CCM Garage (at the base of Corry Boulevard off of Jefferson Avenue) and additional garages throughout the UC campus.

For complete ticket and parking information, visit or call the CCM Box Office at 513-556-4183.

CCM Season Presenting Sponsor: The Otto M. Budig Family Foundation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.